New ASEV appointments

Davis, Calif.—The American Society for Enology and Viticulture (ASEV), named James Harbertson this year’s president. Harbertson, who also holds the interim technical program director position, succeeds Nichola Hall of Scott Laboratories as president of the 11-member board. An associate professor at Washington State University, Tri-Cities, Harbertson has served on the Board of Directors since 2006, has been an active member of ASEV since 1998 and is associate editor of the Australian Journal of Grape and Wine Research

ASEV also announced the appointment of R. Keith Striegler, grower outreach specialist for E &J Gallo Winery, as new director.

In addition to the appointments of Striegler and Harbertson, the executive team for 2017-2018 includes: John Thorngate, vice president, operations technical services at Constellation Brands, California, as first vice president; Kristen Barnhisel, winemaker of white wines for J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines, San Jose, Calif., as second vice president; and Tom Collins, assistant professor at Washington State University, Tri-Cities, as secretary-treasurer. 

Currently no comments posted for this article.